A bit of a catch up

drawing, hiking, origami, walking

As I’ve been away for a few days and with internet and mobile phone signal a bit hit and miss I haven’t been able to post every day. But this does not mean I’ve not been active. Obviously I wasn’t able to take all my craft stuff so I took the opportunity of peace and quiet to do a bit of drawing and catch up on a bit of reading. I drew a “speedy snail” and book worm from my sons how to draw book. I also drew an oak tree and country cottages from my own beginners drawing book. I’m not overly chuffed with the houses but as this was my first attempts at houses and perspective I suppose I can’t complain.

I also ambushed the hubsters origami set and decided to give that a bash – it was a lot harder than I remember from my school days. I made a walking crab, pig finger puppet and a fox puppet – none of which look like said creatures!!! But they look exactly like in the book.

Lastly the book I have started reading is The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo – I seriously wish I hadn’t bothered but I can’t bring myself to not finish a book I start. I’m 100 pages in (6 chapters) and the story still hasn’t got going. still reading back stories. I am hoping it picks up as the blurb on the back sounds really promising.

Oh and not to mention the glorious dog walking in the beautiful Northumbrian countryside – after 10 years of visiting the same hill farm we never tire of the views.

6 thoughts on “A bit of a catch up

  1. Love your artwork and photographs:) I followed your blog and looking forward to more posts. Loved the waterfall photo it looks so tranquil 🙂 .. If you have a second can you let me know what you think of this post? http://oreosandspiltmilk.com/2015/02/17/food-illustration-ramen/ This is my first attempt at tackling food illustration and it’s in the rough stages. Hope you like it and thanks for sharing the awesome sketch . Erin~

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Erin. I’m fairly new to drawing if I’m honest. I made a resolution on 1 January 2014 to learn to draw. My drawing before this was pretty rubbish (even my basic house looked like a 4 year old had drawn it!!!!). My art teacher in school was always giving my work 1 out of 10, saying it was poor and telling me to do it again!!! I don’t get to draw as much as I would like as life and other crafting tends to take priority – drawing is usually left for holidays nowadays. I love your food illustration, you have a uniqueness which makes your illustration really stand out and catch the eye, you should be very proud. I have not started to experiment with colour yet but that is next on my list of things to do.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for the feedback, really appreciate it:) Keep drawing.. I love your work and hope to see more on your blog posts. Art school is pretty discouraging the best is learning on your own.. it doesn’t zap the joy out of it. I prefer getting blogger feedback and sometimes run into an art instructor. Thanks for following:) Looking forward to your posts.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too but my son asked me to draw some eyes on so what the kids want the kids get!!!! I loved that photo too – it turned out a bit darker than expected but it was a good picture considering it was taking with my rubbish little mobile phone 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

